High School Talk

Standard

24th February 2016

Over the last couple of weeks, I have been liaising with an English teacher from a local high school because year 9’s have been doing a persuasive writing task about youth homelessness. The teacher found my blog and Campaign through a local newspaper article and emailed me asking if I would be willing to come and speak to the year.

Today was the day I went into the school with a planned an exercise that got the 140 students up and about at 9am! Asking questions like ‘can anyone become homeless?’ and ‘40% of young people sleeping rough identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) – true or false’ really got them engaged. After each answer, I would then explain what the answer was and give a bit of background knowledge which I could see, got them thinking.

Sharing my homeless story with them helped tell the reality of youth homelessness and it’s issues. Touching on the thoughts of suicide, the 20p in my pocket, the struggle after being housed and relying on the kindness of people to the point of exhaustion were all things I covered.

I was so pleased to be given the chance of speaking to a year group of students as it was mutually beneficial! It was the first time since the Campaign started I had done this and from the feedback that I had from the English teacher and another teacher, it was very well received. I was extremely happy with how it went and certainly justifies why the Campaign needs to expand into the education arena.

The teacher and I have liaised to talk about judging the work that the students develop out of this project, and for me to come back in towards the end of the year and give another talk about activism.

I would like to thank the school for their kindness, hospitality and the chance to inspire and talk to 140 young people who are our future.

If you’d like to book me for a talk, please do email me on hugosugg@gmail.com and we can liaise about your requirements. I like to keep costs to your organisation low for the maximum effect, so would only require travel expenses to be covered at the moment.

Leave a reply and share your view!

